Sims 2 compatible with Windows 10?

EDIT (Aug 21 2015): As a trial run, I did the Windows 10 Upgrade on another laptop, which does NOT contain my Sims 2 game*, but had the Origin game client installed (required for Sims 4 and Sims 2 Ultimate Collection).

* I film and edit machinima on my “old” Sims 2, installed via game discs, on my “main” computer. My “second” computer is the one with the Origin client, Sims 4 and Sims 2 Ultimate Collection.

In Windows 10, I could NOT run the Origin client at all, because the msvcp100.dll file was missing. Copying/pasting the missing dll file did not solve the problem for me. I also tried uninstalling Origin, but the lack of that same dll file prevented me from reinstalling Origin.

As a result, I’m thinking of RESETTING Windows 10 on this computer, but I have yet to decide whether I leave Sims 4 on it, or move it to my other computer with Sims 2.

I consider this a “bad experience” with Windows 10. As I don’t have the time to sweat over my perfectly-functioning games, I will likely leave my Sims 2 computer’s Windows 8.1 untouched.

I may or may not change my mind about this in future, but if I do, I’ll update this post again.


EDIT (July 29 2015): I shall wait for other non-machinima simmers to fully test the compatibility of Sims 2 with Windows 10, before I take any action on my own computer. I’ll update this post with my progress on this subject.


Back in 2013-2014, I was concerned about [Sims 2’s compatibility with Windows 8.1], which I ended up solving by installing the Double Deluxe version instead of the 2004 four CD version.

On Win 8.1, Sims 2 ran well enough for me to film and edit machinima.

But now, as Windows 10 looms on the horizon, I’m unsure if Sims 2 can run well enough to film quality footage for my sims shows.

While the Win 10 upgrade is “optional”, it may feel somewhat forced, because it’s important to have a version of Windows that is [supported for security updates]. But in terms of Sims 2, this change may come across as fixing what isn’t broken.

The Win 10 upgrade may possibly be irreversible is reversible only for the first month after the upgrade, and I’m not willing to risk letting go of Sims 2 yet.

I consider Sims 2 to be the best equipped for machinima, though it is no doubt dated in terms of its default content. I don’t feel compelled to download excessive amounts of custom content for Sims 2, possibly because I don’t “play” it anymore, like how I “play” Sims 4 now.

Sims 3 default content is more diverse and contemporary, but the sim characters look like plasticine models.

Sims 4 characters look much better, and the default items are even more attuned to 2015. But without enough pose boxes and animation hacks, I can’t control the sets well enough.

Unless Sims 4 becomes more machinima-friendly, I’ll have to stick with Sims 2 for my sims shows to continue.

Has the timer already started ticking for the [beginning of the end], in terms of OS support for Sims 2? 😦

Assuming Win 10 and Sims 2 machinima are compatible, does this also mean that I have to RUSH through STM, to complete all 12 episodes by Oct 2020? 😮

Published by

AldoHyde

Sims 2/3/4 Machinima Director, Author & Critic.

2 thoughts on “Sims 2 compatible with Windows 10?”

Leave a Reply

