STM 2.06(A) – 60% – The Ones Who Saved STM

[EDIT: May 13 2015] Approximately 80%.

[EDIT: May 4 2015] STM 2.06(A) is about 75% done. There are likely to be three parts altogether, with 2.06(B) & 2.06(C) being my next Sims projects. Splitting my original long scripts may be my best strategy to shorten the interval between episode releases.

Episodes with a strong focus on the Grunt son(s) and/or Bella Goth have taken me the longest to complete, as I have very little emotional investment in these characters. For STM 2.06(A), it is the former.


[Original Post: April 23 2015] I am pleased to announce 60% completion for STM 2.06(A). It should be shorter than part B, assuming that I release the episode in two parts, instead of three parts. I hope to have it ready in May 2015. [Preview Screenshot #2]

2014 was a difficult year for me. But in terms of STM, it was the year of the Specter Yard Investigation, with a temporary focus on two of the Racing Men. It is fortunate for the show that my difficult schedule coincided with the episode featuring my custom CAS characters, or I would have found it very difficult to remain motivated to press on with production.

In other words, Xu and Ivanov saved STM from what could have been my breaking point to stop completely in 2014.

I feel this more, as STM 2.06(A) has mainly premade characters on screen. It is advantageous to write a story featuring premade characters, as more fans would be familiar with the characters, and may even try something similar in their own game.

On the flip side, it is common for sims storytellers to find less inspiration, or personal liking, for premade characters than those of their own creation.

CAS characters are more likely to be “personal” to the author, as players create their own sims for a variety of reasons. We do not often feel the same way about someone else’s CAS sims, as we do to our own. In a story featuring mainly premade characters, CAS characters throw in a slight plot variation to the otherwise identical sandbox that we share with other simmers.

I knew the Racing Men (1997, GTR98) before any of you simmers even heard of the Goth family (2000, Sims 1). Like Regan & Kent Capp, I was old enough to play Grand Tour Racing 98 at the time of its release, before some of you were even born.

That is the rationale behind the “Capp Siblings 1997 Video Games” scene in STM 2.05(B), which may be a parallel to the Grunt Brothers playing Need For Speed Carbon (2012, STM 1.08) and Sims Medieval (2011, STM 1.06).

Published by

AldoHyde

Sims 2/3/4 Machinima Director, Author & Critic.

Leave a Reply

