Hiatus Over – CAS Calculated Risks

The football hiatus is over, and I’m back to my usual video-making habits. But don’t expect STM 2.05(B) so quickly, as it’s still a busy year for me.

My Sims stories may contain many premade characters, but my storylines tend to veer off the usual expectations of default neighborhoods. In STM, I wrote 1.021.09 to be closer to most fans’ expectations of Strangetown, but my story took on a more “customized” CAS turn from 1.10 onwards.

So STM became more like “Strangetown Fringe than “Strangetown Strangetown”. There is a fine balance between writing for the fans, and writing a tale that the writer himself enjoys — considering that this is his hobby.

It’s also clear that my primary aspiration is Knowledge, not Popularity. That’s why I dare to take calculated risks by experimenting with my story plots and storytelling methods. A guy who calls himself “Prometheus” can’t possibly be the people-pleasing sort who prioritizes mainstream approval.

I’ve stated before, in the context of Pleasantview, that if exactly the same (default) characters and storyline directions are done by many fans, the resulting plot lines will be overtly similar. The same thing can be said of Strangetown, Veronaville, or just about any other town, IF done by enough fans. (But of course, I still prefer Strangetown / Veronaville stories to those about Pleasantview.)

That’s why some CAS elements are necessary in these tales to give a unique touch from the author. Some people think my way of looking at the world is bizarre. At the very least, my stories open your eyes to a realm of possibilities — and I’m happy with that.

STM = Strangetown + Veronaville + Fringe Green + Hyde Blue

Leave a Reply

