Computer Woes: Is Windows 8 compatible with Sims2?

EDIT (March 2015): Answer is YES. I installed Sims 2 Double Deluxe with all EPs, and successfully filmed a [10-min video].
_____________________

I’ve filmed about 50% of STM 2.02. But there is a bigger problem: the Win XP desktop I got last year is showing mild signs of instability.

Those of you who have been following my blog long enough may recall that my computer last crashed in between STM 1.08 & 1.09. But the series (& title of episode 1.09) is “Saved” because of my regular backups. Everything, except for Specter’s graveyard, was intact after I reinstalled Sims2. So a bug in the Watcher World became a storyline in the Sims World…

So I’m eyeing a powerful gaming laptop that runs on Windows 8. But I’ve read of some people having trouble installing their Sims2 on Win8. I’ve also read that you can run Virtualbox to simulate an XP environment on Win8, but I’m not sure if we can FILM Sims2 properly in Virtualbox, or in the “normal” Win8 environment.

That’s the issue. I’m not just a Sims2 player. I’m a DIRECTOR. I need my game to function at the best possible settings to produce optimal footage.

Does anyone have any experience installing, running and/or filming Sims2 on Win8? Please let me know your experiences in the comments. Also state if your Sims2 base game is the four-CD version or double deluxe; as well as the EPs/SPs you installed. (My base game is the 2004 four-CD version. All my EP/SP are on CD/DVD.)

The last thing I want is to be stuck with an expensive machine that is incompatible with Sims2. Bianca & gang look much nicer in Sims2 than they ever would in Sims3, not to mention the superior animation in Sims2 that is a hallmark for STM.

6 Replies to “Computer Woes: Is Windows 8 compatible with Sims2?”

  1. I don’t really know, but maybe this bit of information can be a little helpful;
    My system is running on Windows 7, wich I really like. It runs really smooth and plays the Sims 2 and 3 really well on high settings. I got the Double Deluxe Sims 2 from my brother and it worked fine. All the expansion packs I have, I have bought on “Origin” except for one, wich I’ve bought from “Amazon”. I hope this helped you a little.
    Good luck on finding a good system πŸ˜€

  2. Yes it does aldohyde πŸ™‚ I have a windows 8 laptop and it runs good. Though SimPE dosent work on there. Some programs like SimPE aren’t compatible. with it, but anyways it works well with Sims 2 πŸ˜€

    1. SilverFlames, thank you for the detailed info. I was thinking of a gaming-grade laptop for Win 8, but for now my XP PC appears to have stabilized. So I’ll probably use the XP computer until it fails me.

      Thankfully, I don’t rely on SimPE very much. Come to think of it, Sims2 is quite an old game, first launched in 2004. I just hope to be able to run this game for as long as possible regardless of the OS I’m using.

      1. Glad I could help (This is the same person as is the below post) I hope it will work great for you so you can continueon STM. Well I have to go now and film my second episode in my Strangetown Machinima. πŸ˜€

        1. I see you’ve started your Strangetown series. Would you prefer me to give generic comments, or more detailed honest feedback?

          If you prefer the latter, you could post your video on SimsDynamic Forum (I see you’ve already signed up), and we could take it from there. I only give such in-depth feedback about other directors’ videos in a forum setting…

  3. Hey, Aldohyde. I have Sims 2 Double Deluxe and Fun with Pets Collection installed and it works fine πŸ™‚ . I film myself and it runs good when recording the clips. It is a laptop, so the PC will run LOTS smoother. I say its good for recording and playing, so getting it would be worth it πŸ˜€ . One problem is with SimPE it can’t run it for some reason…but anywho I hope you have luck with the PC

Leave a Reply

